When Doves Cry

21 May

Since  Mondays just naturally suck, what better day to sit back and share some good memories? Music is deeply ingrained in my life, there’s always a song that reminds me of something, so I am declaring Mondays as the day for Music Memories! Grab a graphic (comment if you want a different color and I will post it for you) and share your best stories about your favorite songs, or the band you love, or the concert you went to or the movie  soundtrack that always reminds you of that one time… 

****************************************************************************************************************

I must’ve been about 8 years old the time I passed out at the fair. It’s one of many embarrassing stories I have about fainting in public. I never do it gracefully.  Now to be honest, I don’t recall if it was a festival, fair, church bazaar, or school carnival, I just can’t quite remember all the details, but I remember this: It was hot. I was wearing jeans and a white button down shirt. I kept looking down at the jeans wishing I had chosen to wear my “coolots” instead. (Coolots: sometimes referred to as a skort; the first cross-breed clothing I ever owned, they were some strange concoction of skirt-shorts-capri pants that everybody was wearing on the opposite end of the Cyndi Lauper hair do’s.)

My hot pink pen-striped purse hung from the long string around my shoulders with a few tickets and my lucky CareBear inside. I decided to do the cake walk. Round and round and round we went. The music was playing “how can you leave me standing alone in a world that’s so cold!” What did he know?? It wasn’t cold at all. It was 100° at least. Of course, according to my children, I’m so old that my childhood pre-dates global warming, so my memory is probably exaggerating. Still, I remember feeling icky in my stomach as I walked around and around, the chairs disappearing from the circle one at a time, listening to the artist formerly known as the stupid symbol no one could pronounce till he finally regained enough of his senses to admit that we should still call him Prince! Now here’s where I would normally add a little link to his songs so you could bounce over to YouTube for a little listen, but this guy is such a fanatic that he actually sits around making sure no one posts his music on the web. Anywhere. I don’t know how he is doing himself any favors with that, but ok, I didn’t say he regained all his senses, just enough to have a name for those royalty checks to be made out to.

Finally, the last round, it was just me and this middle-aged bald guy. Sadly, as I type that, I realize I’m married to the middle aged bald guy now days. The lady stopped the music, and we both landed at the same time on the little chair, neither of us willing to budge an inch to give it up. So she tried again, and again we tied, so she decided to use a little trivia as the tie-breaker. “Name this song and the person who sings it” she said and as the old bald guy was thinking with a perplexed look on his face, I shouted out “Prince, When the Doves Cry.”

Lucky me, I had seen Purple Rain!  I won the cake, life was good! My mother was surprised by my trivia knowledge. Of course, she was country, and country wasn’t really cool yet, so I had to do my homework keeping up with the Top 40 so I wouldn’t look like a dork at school. I proudly presented my cake to my mother, ok, I just didn’t wanna carry it around, what kid ever carries around their own prizes at the fair? (Suddenly I have the mental picture of my husband carrying a giant fox and a big stuffed crocodile all day at Fiesta Texas long ago. Blondie slept with those things for years!)

I went to stand in the shade of a big oak tree, when I felt my head banging against the tree repeatedly. Like I was just bouncing my skull off the bark for the fun of it. Only I had absolutely no control over what I was doing. Next thing I knew, I was hitting the dirt, and then, I woke up with my family standing around me, everyone’s eyeballs bulging out like bullfrogs at the spectacle I surely was.

I remember the ride home that day, my face still red with humiliation, and the lyrics still floating in my head. (Yes, they are © to the one and only Prince!)

Dream if u can a courtyard
An ocean of violets in bloom
Animals strike curious poses
They feel the heat
The heat between me and u

How can u just leave me standing?
Alone in a world that’s so cold? (So cold)
Maybe I’m just 2 demanding
Maybe I’m just like my father 2 bold
Maybe you’re just like my mother
She’s never satisfied (She’s never satisfied)
Why do we scream at each other
This is what it sounds like
When doves cry

And still when that song plays on the radio, I think back to the day when I picked my blue jeans over my coolots and ended up on the ground for all the world to see!

He may not live in my purse anymore, but he’s still around! I’m still waiting for him to make me LUCKY!!

15 Responses to “When Doves Cry”

  1. Roly May 21, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Ah! Don’t we all have embarrassing falls and moments. I’ve had a few that I can’t forget too. :)

    • Tiffany (lifewithblondie) May 21, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      I just love it when I wake up on the floor at the mall, and everyone is gathered around staring! :D LOL

  2. Mary Haag May 21, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    There’s not a song from the last 50 years, including classical, that doesn’t bring some kind of memory to mind. Music is the only thing that keeps most of my ol’ memories alive and well, rattling around up in this crazy head of mine.

  3. OperationMommiehood May 21, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Love it!!! I will be posting mine when the kiddo goes down for a nap!!!! And I will for sure link you in!!!!

  4. Tom Baker May 21, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    One of my all time favorite Prince songs but from that album, Purple Rain and the instrumental love song, God (which is only available in Japanese markets) are my favorites.

    • Tiffany (lifewithblondie) May 21, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      I love when my hubby sings Purple Rain. He actually does a killer job, even though he’d never admit it!

      • Tom Baker May 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

        He does his version or he tries to sound like His Royal Badness?

      • Tiffany (lifewithblondie) May 21, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

        His version of an impression of the artist formerly known as His Royal Badness!

      • Tom Baker May 21, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

        Cute.

  5. Tammy Quinn May 21, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I had forgotten that

  6. The Hook May 21, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Nice walk down Memory Lane!

  7. the white wave May 21, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    EEErrrgggg . . . Prince! That little man took our table at a salsa club. And then he wouldn’t even let us take a picture of him. He is for sure on my hit list!

    I don’t like to be negative, but that is what comes to mind when I hear his name . . . that, and the fact that for the short time he was married to Applonia, they only communicated telepathically.

    • Tiffany (lifewithblondie) May 21, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      ROLMAO… I did not know about the telepathic communication! Of course, that doesn’t surprise me… It irritates me that he has such a cow about being on YouTube. People aren’t allowed to do karaoke versions of his songs?? Doesn’t he know that passing on the love for his music would make the benefits out weigh the copyright infringements? Dang, I’m gonna try sending my hubby a telepathic message to hurry home and do these dishes for me….

      • the white wave May 22, 2012 at 9:34 am #

        Yeah, I can only see that leading to marital disharmony, to say the least.

  8. Missey Twisted May 21, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Good Luck Bear! So awesome! Even though you fainted, he at least helped you win a cake, right?

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

