V-Day Survivor Faces New Challenge

Standard

©Tiffany Prestridge

 Somehow I made it through the dreaded V-day without a card or a poem or flowers or a romantic dinner or a diamond bracelet or even a love letter. I tried hinting for a Kindle Fire- nothing says love like a new electronic gadget. At the end of the day my hubby simply said “I thought you hated Valentine’s Day, so I skipped it. My bad.” In his defense, he did offer to run to Wal-Mart at 10pm, but apparently he doesn’t read my blogs. I’m thinking I may be able to make a whole new category based on my feelings for all things Wal-Mart, but at the end of the day my heart did not stop beating from the lack of adoration dished out. I made it through February 14th; I am indeed a survivor! I even painted on a happy face and served Big Red Ice-Cream Floats to a bubbly little kindergarten class. I also managed to buy all the kiddos some cute little tins filled with gigantic cookies, so all in all I wasn’t a total Cupid-Grinch.

I was, however, scolded by my hubby for voicing my opinion of elementary Valentine’s exchanges while picking through the dreaded Wal-Mart isle.  Apparently I am supposed to bite my tongue while in public. Dang, why do I keep forgetting that?

With V-day safely behind me, I am off to the next challenge. The disaster kitchen is about to face a major renovation! Am I ready for this? Yes!!  NO!   Maybe….

I took some “before” pictures today, as proof that my desperate need for a new kitchen is not based solely upon aesthetics. The other day, hubby was showing his dad the weak spot in our counter top, and the second he pounded it with his “Look, right here” proclamation, the entire thing busted through! I kid you not, this remodel has been desperately needed for about a decade!

 

The Black Hole!

Now I don’t wanna spoil the fun by showing off all the pathetic before pictures; I have decided to save the rest for when the after is something to oooh and aahhhh over! In an effort to save some serious dough, I have decided to stain and polyurethane them myself, and poor hubby is not looking forward to his new role as tile-layer / counter-top installer!

Despite his apprehensions, here we go down demolition road! I have never taken on a challenge quite this daunting… We’re talking weeks of chaos ahead of me! Today I purchased a few plastic bins to start packing, but so far I have unpacked preschoolers more than I have packed dishes. (What is it about a big empty box that screams “crawl inside me”?)

I’m scared to see what all I have collected in the dilapidated cabinets that are barely standing under the kitchen sink. We have lived in this house nearly 13 years. That’s a long time for a recovering pack rat like me! I think I will watch a few episodes of Hoarders help inspire me to put more and more in the “get rid of” pile. Heck, maybe I will open a store on Ebay and use my years of collecting to fund my remodeling, since the Prestridge Zoo Renovations Fund is growing slowly. Now that might be an idea worth working on! Surely someone wants a few ceramic polar bears…

If you don’t hear from me again soon, please send help. It’s possible that I will get lost in Remodeling Madness! Now, what will I feed the monkeys without a kitchen? I just don’t think I can bring myself to hit McDonald’s more than once.

5 responses »

  1. I am glad you survived. Sorry your hubby is a dense as mine. I find it is best if you give written instructions with pictures if you want them to get the message. Hehehe! 😉

    • I know I have unrealistic expectations and they’ve made me kind of hate Valentine’s Day, but I can’t tell you how ironic I thought it was that his reason for not doing anything happened to be the fact that I’m not big on the whole day. Kind of like what came first? The chicken or the egg?? LOL

      • hahaha! I know! Girl. I love my honey–he is the best–but he is dumb as a stump to what I want unless I spell it out like I was talking to a ding bat instead of a guy with a 150 IQ!

        Guys just don’t get what we want! hahaha! Hugs!

      • I think I will cut out a pic of a Kindle Fire and then glue it to his wallet… my birthday is a few months away! Better yet, I will put a pic of the IPAD in his wallet and then tell him how sweet I am being to “settle” for Kindle Fire. LOL

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

