Another Manic Monday

Standard

“Six o’clock already, I was just in the middle of a dream. I was kissing Valentino by a crystal blue Italian stream…” Okay, so it wasn’t Valentino running through my mind, but the year the Bangles filled my room with those lyrics I was dreaming of boys. I was torn between the Risky Business Tom Cruise and Sebastian Bach. I was leaning towards Skid Row’s front man when Top Gun came along and put Tom back in first place.

But then, something amazing happened. I discovered a boy with wavy blond hair and a skateboard! He lived 3 blocks away. I wasn’t old enough to drive a car, so I didn’t have a job. Instead, I could wander aimlessly around my neighborhood until we “accidentally” bumped into each other. By Springbreak we were holding hands, and the very first week of summer, I got my first kiss! Bye-bye Sebastian, there’s a new kid in town!

Those were the days! Summers were long, and life was sweet. I woke up at 9am because the pool opened at 10, and I had to look perfect to go swimming! There was something romantic about playing chicken with my boyfriend in the shallow end, full of school girl giggles! Sometimes we rode the bus to the Astrodome to sit in the nose-bleed seats and watch the Astros play. That’s when Nolan Ryan was still their ace in the hole!

The wavy-haired boy bought me cotton candy and held my hand. I was sure that was exactly what love should be. I remember being so giddy and I was glad baseball was the longest game in the world. I wanted to sit forever in those bleachers with the butterflies swimming in my stomach and the wavy-haired boy smiling at me!

I think that is what drew me to the idea of becoming a teacher. Summer vacation. Seriously! Who doesn’t love to dance around shouting “School’s out for summer!” It’s not near as much fun if you don’t have 3 months of sunshine ahead of you to enjoy!

I try to make sure my kids get to enjoy summer the way I did, but it’s not always easy. Especially now that I can see why my mother used to say “Don’t suck down those Capri Suns- you won’t get more! They’re expensive!” They really were, too! I think they were $2.97 back in the day when they were still a new drink around here. They may actually be cheaper now, which is odd since everything else has become extremely over inflated! If this gas gets any higher, I’m gonna have to tie a wagon to the back of a bicycle and start pedaling. Anyway, I remember my mother feverishly cutting coupons, trying to prepare for summer, trying to stock pile the snacks and I can tell you, 3 or 4 girls do not eat nearly as much as 5 boys! (I have a few girls too, but seriously, it is the boys that pack away the groceries.)  Friday I was in the dreaded Wal-Mart, and I dropped about $120, and the girl who checked me out had that deer in the headlights expression when I commented “the sad thing is that this won’t even get us through the weekend.” The same girl checked me out on Sunday, and she said “I thought you were kidding!”

Nope, I wasn’t kidding, I need one of those extreme couponer’s to come over and do some of my shopping for me! Summer time is hard on the grocery budget, but when you can throw your kids in the lake and watch them laugh, it’s worth every penny! If only we could find our way to the “Lazy Days and Lemonade” (as my sister always puts it). We’re only a week in and already we’re drowning in to-do’s. I’m still filling out adoption paperwork! It’s like I never see the end of that stack.

Now I am putting together calendars. Baseball is winding down, but soon football will begin. There are 2-a-days and conditioning and summer reading and dance camps. In fact, this morning Blondie hung her little whistle around her neck for the first time. She headed to the first day of practice. She was elated!  “Mom, it’s official, I’m a SENIOR and I’m the MAJOR!”

Headed to Dance, Notebook in hand,
ready to be THE BOSS!

She was bubbling over with excitement so big, it made it really hard to stay mad at her! Oh, why was I mad?? Just moments before she hung the whistle around her neck, I was repeating to her that curfew was 10pm on week nights, summer or not. To which her reply was “oh yeah, there was this little piece of white paper on my windshield yesterday- what does it mean?” And as she handed me her very first parking ticket, the urge to thump her in the head was tingling in my finger tips.

I’m just not quite sure I believe that she didn’t know you had to park facing a certain direction. Since I taught her driver’s ed, I know for fact we covered that topic, more than once! Do you think the judge would look at her hair and cut us a break? Hmmmm….

I guess it’s just another Manic Monday!

Join the challenge on Mondays!
Write a blog about a song, album, band or concert.
Basically, any moment that music infuses with your life,
click here for more details!

9 responses »

  1. I love all the music references, I relate to them all. I have a CD with Madonna’s “Crazy For You” on it, and every time I hear it, it still takes me back to the roller rink, where, in jr. high, I was sure I was going to meet my future husband as we held hands and rolled around the rink during the couples’ song-dim lights, Madonna playing-what else would you need for a lifelong fairytale marriage?

  2. Manic Monday was Hubby’s favorite song when he was a kid – a fact that tickles me to no end because his musical taste is pretty hip and this inauspicious start makes me giggle. I’m sure Susanna Hoffs had something to do with it.

  3. Summer grocery bills are a killer. I have 5 kids and it’s bad. I can’t imagine 7.
    I used to go over to my friend’s house in the summer to watch MTV (back when they played music videos) and we’d squeal like mad when Skid Row’s “18 and Life” came on. Looking back now, I don’t know what in the world I was thinking. Then, I was 11, and hadn’t discovered Johnny Depp yet. *swoon*

  4. I sure get what you mean about boys and the grocery bill! Geesh! And I too have to admit that summer vacation is one of the wonderful things about being a teacher!! :)And the Bangles totally take me back!

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

