The Announcement

Standard

HannahThis picture was supposed to be my Wordless Wednesday post for the week, but with only two weeks until school lets out, I guess I’m running a little behind. So I forgot to post my picture about mailing out the big announcements. Not only am I getting ready for her graduation, and remodeling our house, but we also had the lovely fortune of flooding our house!

Yep, I put on a load of laundry, headed out to take the kids to school, and came back to a nightmare. I must have been gone about an hour or so, and when I arrived home I could hear water running. At first I was certain that kids left the sink on, but when that didn’t pan out, I headed to the laundry room. I stepped down into that part of our house, and suddenly my ankles were under water. I couldn’t believe it!

The hose busted, and water was steady pouring out. It took hours to get the water all out of the house. It has been a week and I am still dealing with the damages. Two ruined bedrooms, a storage closet destroyed, and damage to my bathroom and my bedroom along with all the damage in the laundry room. It’s overwhelming to say the least. The only two rooms in our house that had new flooring now have no flooring! There are walls that need to be torn out. I had to throw out books that have been in the family for years and boxes full of toys, craft supplies, mementos, and even a leather bomber jacket every kid in the family at some point wore. So many things were completely ruined, and it’s just completely disheartening. The worst part was having to throw away tons of supplies for our remodel. Sheetrock, grout, mortar, all soaked! I tried to salvage what I could, but at some point you just start tossing it all out so you can get to the bottom of the mess. I guess that old saying rings true for me: “If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all!”

The next few weeks I’m going to do everything in my power to get our house together so we can have a party to celebrate Blondie’s big graduation day. Come hell or washing machine water, I’m gonna make it happen. I’m going to tear out sheetrock and throw away toys and wash every item in our house, and in the middle of all that, I’ll be searching for the silver linings to surround these clouds. I just need something to remind me that the glass is half full. Right now, it’s looking half empty, like when you lay your iced tea on the coffee table and some child sneaks in and drinks it all, and never even admits to it. That’s just not the way I like my disposition to be, so I tell myself again, this too shall pass, and someday, I’ll look back on this chaos and laugh. One day the thought of using a leaf blower to get water out of my house will be comical, right?

Until then, wish me luck! I want to have a commencement celebration, and there is a lot to do if I’m gonna make it happen. But that’s what Mama’s do, right? We make the impossible plausible. I have fifteen days to “Git R Done!” If the electrician ever shows up, I just might make it happen, but just in case I need a little extra help, can you make a wish, say a prayer, cross your finger, and lend me some good karma because this might be one deadline I just can’t reach….

One response »

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

