What?? No Wi-fi??

Standard

So the past week or so our internet has been DOWN! The funny thing about cell phones and the internet and all this technology we’ve created is that we have no idea how much we have come to depend on it until it goes down!

lotusEver gone a day without your cell phone and felt completely lost and off-task? I’m that lady from the commercial that say “2006 called and they want their flip phone back!” My phone is so old it was one of the first to have a touch screen, I’m not kidding!

I don’t know why I haven’t upgraded yet. Maybe it’s because my husband and my children keep stealing all the upgrades, but I think it’s partially because I have so much history stored in that phone! I’m sure I can transfer the pictures, but there are messages and notes and memos that I keep in that old thing… not to mention that I have the schedule perfectly set to remind me when to take the princess to dance class or when to take the boys to football practice or which day to pick one up early and which days the other stays late. It rings to tell me to take my medicine, to pick up the kids medicine, to go to the doctor, to hit the parent-teacher conferences, or to pay the electric bill. I’ve spent so much time developing my relationship with these different ringers, it’s just hard to let go…. but now that the kids turned my camera into some obsolete piece of scrap that no longer snaps pictures of them running across the football field, I am seriously considering going to the GALAXY!

My kids are divided. One has the iPhone, one has the Galaxy, and the other five are waiting to be old enough for a phone of their own, but I’m not an Apple kind of person, so I’m thinking it’s time for me to join everyone else in this house with smart phone fever. Surely I have nothing better to do than to sit on my phone and post Facebook statuses, right?

Of course this past week all I’ve heard is “MOM, the Wi-Fi won’t work!” I can’t imagine griping at my mom over the Wi-Fi… What ever happened to hide and go seek??

candycrushOf course hide and go seek isn’t quite the same as Candy Crush, or so I’ve heard! I refuse to play that game on the simple principle that every one else is playing, and I think every game needs someone to hate it, just because nothing can be liked by everyone! I also hate Spongebob, I’m sorry, but I like to stand out from the crowd! I don’t really have time to play Candy Crush or watch Spongebob, so I guess I’m not really missing out on much.

I’ve been working my booty off to complete my degree, and in doing so I, too, have been relying on the Wi-Fi to get me through! So when it went down, and I was in a panic to write my paper and take my exam, the world really did almost come to a halt! Things like this always happen in a month when all the money is already spent, but thanks to the luxury of being able to “charge it to my bill” I was able to have a modem delivered, installed, and even the Wi-Fi was restored, so I am once again in the good graces of my children! Heaven forbid they have to play with each other, I mean it’s bad enough that they’re all Facebook friends! What more should I ask for??

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

