I do!

Standard

This week we celebrated a few big milestones. Wednesday was our first “adopt-iversary”, and it doesn’t seem like a year has gone by since we signed our adoption papers, but the calendar doesn’t lie. In our house, being adopted is a happy thing, and I think I’m gonna always try to mark the occasion, kind of like a birthday, because it was the birth of a new family. I find it sort of ironic that we adopted the day before our wedding anniversary, so Thursday we celebrated another year together, which is what started this family in the first place! And to think, it all happened in the Wal-Mart parking lot…

img207

(click here if you wanna know how I got a husband at Wal-Mart)

Sometimes I joke that I’m still on my first marriage, but truth is, I’m pretty sure I’m on my last one too… I think in every good marriage there are days when you wake up and say to yourself “Is this really the person I’ve chosen to spend my forever with?” Especially when the man next to you just made some loud grumbly noises under the sheets, but then something always happens that makes you realize “yes, yes it is the person I choose!” And that right there is the key to it all… you have to continue to choose your life together. You can’t live off a promise from the past unless you renew those promises day after day.

I can’t lie, there have been times when I have wanted to forget those promises. There are times when I wish he’d forget them too and just leave me to sleep by myself in our queen size bed! I’ve definitely entertained the thought of having my very own room! But somehow just as I think the ship is about to sink, we’re always able to find our way back to each other. It seems to happen right at the moment when we decide to dig in and try to bail each other out of the deep- That’s how we remember why we were so important to one another in the first place! I wish every marriage could be as blessed as ours in that sense. I’m always sad when I see a friend or family member going through a divorce, because I wish they could just share in this gift of renewal we seem to have found.

SeanTiff2013

I remember once, early in my marriage, my husband and I were riding in the backseat with my parents. My dad was still holding hands like he had a brand new bride. I remember thinking “I hope that’s me someday.” I truly believe if my husband could just learn to pick up his dirty clothes and do some yard work, we could find our way to that kind of blissful union! (Of course he’s probably still waiting for my Martha Stewart alter ego to return to me, that way I’d get this place whipped into shape all by myself!)

It’s been one heck of a week. I finished my first term as a returning college student. We marked two big milestones, and we found that we have some even bigger challenges ahead of us, but for today, I’m not gonna focus on those challenges. Instead, I’m gonna count my blessings. There’s not even a turkey dinner in sight just yet, but I’m feeling very thankful for this life I live!

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

