She’s Baaaa-aaaack!

Standard

So Blondie came home for a few days! Talk about a happy family. The kids were all so excited to have their big sister home. That is, until she started bossing them around just like she used to do. “Pick up those socks! Clean the bathroom!” I have no idea why they jump like firecrackers when she says it, but I say it and I have to repeat it ten times before anyone notices.  She says it’s because I’m too soft. I say it’s because she’s too mean. Maybe it’s a little of both.

diinnertableThere’s nothing I love more than seeing my dinner table full. Kids crowded around, blessings offered up, smiles and garlic bread- that’s the good life!

What I love even more is the sound of guitars streaming through the family room. I’ve missed writing with her, watching as she took a page of words and turned it into something I could listen to over and over again. guitars

Back in March I went to Nashville to check on her. She had just met a boy. He came over for the first time while I was there, and the three of us worked on music together. I watched as she fell in love with exactly the kind of young man I always pictured for her. He was cute, well mannered, and has a heart for God, but most amazingly he shares her dreams of following a musical path in life. She’s never dated someone who was so perfectly matched to her.

Of course she brought him with her on this trip home, and everywhere we’ve gone, he’s gotten the “seal of approval”.  Which is good, because it looks like he’s going to be a part of the family! He let me in on a little secret a while back. He bought a ring. It’s been burning a hole in his pocket ever since. I’ve never seen a boy so full of nerves and excitement, but watching him all day Friday, I could see he could barely hold it together. He was dying to let the cat out of the bag. She could tell something was up, but I think she was truly surprised and just what he had planned!

Yes, they’re young, and the world is offering them a ton of well intentioned advice. On the “don’t do it” team, people have cautioned them that they’re not ready. They have plenty of time. They don’t have to rush into anything just yet. On the “go for it” side, they have been encouraged to jump in feet first. My advice, “follow your heart!” I honestly believe that whatever your heart tells you to do is God letting you know his plan for your life. Others won’t always understand it, but if you listen to that inner voice, you’ll head in the right direction.

I met her daddy when I was 19 years old, in a parking lot of Wal-Mart. We moved in together 4 days later. We’ve spent the last two decades going through the ups and downs of life and so I do believe sometimes things are just meant to be. These kids seem like the real deal. I have every faith that their journey together will be a magical one.

So here we go down a brand new path. My little girl, not so little anymore, is about to start a life of her very own. But no matter what, she’ll still be my Blondie! I’m just so glad I was there to see the moment she said yes! And I can’t wait to see the story unfold…

About Tiffany (lifewithblondie)

This mom blogger has tackled everything from adoption, ADD, ADHD, OCD, ODD, conduct disorder, hives, pimples, curfew violations, and puberty to sweaty armpits, major surgeries, prom nights and letter jackets in addition to becoming a fairy godmother (aka Grandma).

2 responses »

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

