The Difference of a Day

Standard

As luck would have it, Springbreak was pretty dreary. It rained nearly every day. But I found myself memorized by the tree in my backyard. From my bedroom window I watched the birds playing on it’s bare branches. You know those little geeky guys with the binoculars and the long lenses staring up into the trees? Well, suddenly I could see why they spend their days staring up into those branches!

We have at least 50 birds hanging out in our backyard tree. There are blue jays and cardinals and doves. I love how the red cardinal looks so in large and in charge!

009 (2) 018 006 (2)Then I noticed this cool little woodpecker.

038 (2) 034 I made the kids come stare with me while I broke out the camera and started trying to capture the little guys! They probably think I crossed over into complete dork mode. That’s okay though.

What I really couldn’t quit thinking about was the little nest I spotted way up high. When the worst of the rain blew in I thought of those little newborn birds. I thought “what a shame, the rain will surely wipe them out.”

Even in the night I stared up at that little nest. Had the tree been full of leaves I never would have been able to spot it, but with winter still looming in the branches, it was clear as day way up there. By the glow of the lightening, I saw this bird spread it’s wings and cover the nest. I was completely engrossed. He was protecting his home against the elements.

The next morning, I looked up in the bare branches, and I saw those birds still there, feeding there babies, and I thought to myself “Isn’t that just like God to make something that seems so delicate, when really, they are so strong!”

Do you ever feel like you’re so delicate, so worn down by life that the very next blow is going to be the one to knock you right out of the tree? I’ve been feeling that way lately, like my branch is too heavy to hold everything I need to pile on it. I guess I need to spread my wings and guard the nest…

I’m struggling with so many day to day decisions and keeping up with my to-dos and juggling a budget that is busting at the seams and I’ve been so frustrated with the collision of bad luck. The washing machine spent several days out of commission, now the mountain of laundry has reclaimed the back end of my house. The stove that had been limping along on it’s last leg had to finally be replaced. The kids broke my pancake griddle- the one that had been a wedding gift from my great-aunt Melanie many years ago, and on the same day they broke the sewing machine that spun out all of Blondie’s dresses when she was little along with many curtains and bedroom makeovers. I don’t have the money to replace those things right now, or to buy the new tennis shoes every kid in this house seems to desperately need, but I can’t stop thinking about that little bird, and how he sat there with his mighty wings and guarded his nest from the rain!

Then yesterday, morning came, and suddenly, out of the blue, the branches I’ve been watching for the past two weeks weren’t bare anymore! In just one night little green leaves popped up everywhere! ONE NIGHT! I’ve been on this earth for 38 years and I’m still amazed that those branches came to life in just ONE NIGHT!! I guess sometimes one day makes all the difference in how we see the world.

March2015 113I’m sure within a week or so, I won’t be able to see the little nest anymore. The thick green leaves will have returned to create a fortress for my chirpy little friends. Softball and summer track practice and that mountain of laundry and the blaring sun that heats up my room will keep me from staring out the window as much, but now, whenever I do, I think I will be reminded of God’s promises and the new life that Spring brings into the world.

March2015 007It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood, that’s for sure! There just won’t be any pancakes today!

**********  #15  ************

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

