Love is Not Genetic

Standard

For a while my kids were so into Duck Dynasty that we had it saved on our DVR. I didn’t even realize a new season had started until I noticed three episodes were saved, so I turned it on. It’s one thing my husband and I don’t argue about. He doesn’t love my HGTV obsession and I seriously cannot stand watching someone hunt or fish on TV, so Willy and Jase give us a little sliver of neutral ground.

corney creek - easter 1248.JPG

The ZooCrew in Monroe, Louisiana. My grandpa use to say you can pick your friends, you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your friend’s nose… but you can pick the nose of a Robertson.

So, I hit play- as the show ended I realized there were actually two episodes saved together, one was Duck Dynasty and the other was a new spin-off, Expanding the Dynasty, which chronicles the new journey of Jep and Jessica Robertson, as they venture down Adoption Road.

They’ve adopted a son!

duck-dynasty

photo courtesy of: abcnews.go.com

It was so heart warming to hear them say that being a part of Duck Dynasty made them realize how privileged they are, and how much they had to share. Too often fame and greed go hand in hand, but I got the feeling that they were being genuine when I heard Jessica say it broke her heart knowing there are children out there who are happy just to own a toothbrush, and she knew she could change a child’s life- and then my husband said “she’s just like you…”

“Thanks honey! I needed that.”

It was just awesome watching a house full of kids so excited to share their home, their family, their rooms, their mommy and daddy. I have to be honest, our adoption has had its share of the warm and fuzzy moments, but we’ve also had some struggles.

I think it’s because our adoption started in a totally different way. Ours began with a caseworker knocking on the door, looking for a place to put four little babies. What started out as a temporary solution became a permanent need about a year later. I think it would have been better if we had just made the change permanent from the get-go. I think the back and forth created confusion and maybe even some resentments, and it made a whole lot of dirty diapers, but at the end of day I wouldn’t change a thing. I honestly love having so many kids, I just wish I had the finances to make life a little easier for us. I’d love to be able to have a spur of the moment trip to the pizza parlor or a road trip down to the beach on spring break. I thought for sure it would only take me a year or two to get a teaching degree, and here I am 5 years later still working on that…

When you raise kids with special needs nothing really goes as planned. That becomes more and more clear everyday. Every time I think I’ve got it together, some giant obstacle jumps in front of me. In the hardest moments people have asked me if I made the wrong choice, but I’ve never wanted to give up. Love is not genetic. It doesn’t come from the birth canal. I do believe love comes from blood, but not my blood- the blood that was shed on that cross thousands of years before you or me ever walked this Earth. It is the reason I can make mistake after mistake and still keep on going. It’s where we find grace, forgiveness, and compassion. If we share that, then nothing else really matters. There are women who are mothers and they never gave birth. There are women who gave birth and never became mothers. There are women like me, who’ve become moms in more than one way and at the end of the day, we all have the same blood. HIS.

I’ve never said this before, but I’m actually excited to see what happens next on Duck Dynasty. Tuning in to the excitement of adoption brought a special little smile to the faces of some very special little people. I want my kids to love the fact that they were adopted. I want them to feel like of all the kids in this world, I picked them. Truth is, God picked them for me and every time I think the ship is gonna sink, he parts the sea.
____________________________________
If you like this blog, please give a little click! No form, nothing to fill out, no spam- just click here and it will register a vote for Life With Blondie!
Vote For Me @ The Top Mommy Blogs Directory

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

