Roses for a Pickle…

Standard
Roses for a Pickle…

Last night my nearly 17 year old son was sitting at my desk, scrolling through Facebook. I was sitting back staring at this kid, like I usually do. I keep asking myself “how did I make that big strong guy?” His birthday is just about a week away, so I’m drunk on nostalgia every time I look over at him.

He caught me staring and I could tell he was about to do it. He was about to make me cry. He does it on purpose. Every time he catches me giving him that “you’ve grown up too fast” look, he says “just think Mom, this is my last year of being a kid… then I’m gonna grow up and move away. I’ll probably travel. Maybe Alaska.

Alaska. That’s where the tears come in. See, I’m all for growing up and moving away. Down the block. Maybe across town. Ok, fine, a few towns over– but, ALASKA? That is just way too far to make family dinner- and he really  might do it. If he does, I’ll have to suck it up and get used to a phone call here and there; but for now, he’s to be home by midnight. Period. End of story.

I guess he decided to go easy on me, because instead of Alaska he said “hey Mom, check out this video.”

So I did. Looked simple enough. Of course it’s a perfectly crafted video, it’s supposed to look simple enough. “I think you should make me some of these.”

I halfway dismissed it from my brain but this morning I noticed it on my friend’s Facebook. These apples are going viral. Just then I realized I am out of laundry soap. AGAIN. That means I have no choice, I have to go to Wal-Mart. AGAIN.

Just as I got inside, I saw the apples to my left, and I thought of my Dyl Pickles, and I had one of those Martha Stewart moments. So, I grabbed the apples and some apricot preserves and decided I was adding these roses to my to-do list. (Any excuse to hide from the laundry will do.)

Things weren’t quite as simple as the little video insinuated, but I’ve got it down to a science now. First, I had to cook the apples for about 7 minutes instead of 3 because they weren’t soft enough to bend.2016-02-09 09.36.37

Then I forgot to put any water in the preserves, but I think that was probably one of those mistakes that turn out better than the recipe. It took several tries to roll them correctly, but once I did, I baked two beautiful batches of Apple Roses.

I decided to lay them out perfectly on a platter and set them on the table to await the return of my brood. I also made sure I got a few pictures, because I spent two hours on these, and I don’t think it’s going to take 4 minutes for them to disappear. But today I’m giving roses to my Pickle, that way, if he goes to Alaska, he’ll at least miss his mama’s cooking.

Now, whatever you do, DO NOT show him PINTEREST. I don’t have time to be making all of that!!
____________________________________
If you like this blog, please give a little click! No form, nothing else to click on, just click once and it will register a vote for Life With Blondie!
Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory
 

