Call it Slop

Standard

A few months ago we were out of groceries. Again. Hey, these kids will eat you out of house and home. Literally. I used to cook those 3 course country kitchen kind of dinners every day- back when I had 3 kids. Now, I try to cook gigantic batches of food 3 times a week and hope they carry us through. (Thank goodness for pizza night.)

I used to like grocery shopping, but that too has changed over the years. I blame Wal-mart, but I’ll complain about that some other day. Needless to say, I’ve become a master at avoiding the store. So, I’m known for throwing a bunch of stuff in a pot and calling it dinner. Surprisingly those are my kids’ favorite nights! They don’t want fancy, they want hearty. Especially if I forget the “whole grain” stuff…

One night I found a big package of hamburger meat, some frozen potatoes O’brien, a few cans of corn, carrots and some rotel tomatoes. I threw it all together and mixed in some brown gravy. “What are we supposed to call this?” Jordan asked me, and I was feeling particularly sarcastic, so I said “Call is slop, like what you feed the little piggies…”

TiffPhone5-16 3143

This giant pot of slop went from overflowing to empty in 30 minutes flat! Click here for the recipe for your own little piggies. Warning, this is country cooking, not health food.

I was pretty amused with myself UNTIL we were walking through the grocery store one day and the kids shouted “can you make us some slop?” I think my face turned 3 shades of red.

The other day we were all out of carefully planned meals again… so it was back to the drawing board. I’m not going to Wal-mart on a day when I’ve completed a college exam, and been to therapy, a softball practice, and an awards ceremony. Especially with 5 kids and a baby in tow. We’ll eat Ramen Noodles for dinner before I torture myself to that degree. So, to the deep freeze I went! I found two packages of sausage- ok, that’s something!

In the fridge there was a bowl of leftover queso dip. In the pantry I had two packages of veggie rotini noodles, the colorful ones. Then I found some cream of chicken soup, a few more cans of rotel, and some shredded cheddar cheese. Wouldn’t you know it, that’s a meal! Again, here comes Jordan with his questions! “What are we eating? What do you call this?”

TiffPhone5-16 3122

Another pot-emptying recipe that you won’t find on South Beach.

This time I thought of something better than slop. I said “Rainbow Sausage.” Hey, it’s cheesy but at least it won’t make old people stare me down in Wal-Mart. They polished off the entire pot in one sitting. Jayden actually said “Mama, I like it when you just make stuff up!” Of course that reminded all the other kids of the slop we had a few months back, so yesterday I was grocery shopping and I decided to recreate it. As luck would have it I ran into someone I hadn’t seen in a few years.

“What are you cooking?” She looked truly interested. “Let’s just call it slop” I said while gritting my teeth. Oh well, at least I didn’t call it S.O.S. Some people might say it stands for same old stuff, but my dad said it was shit on shingles, and that mental image made it hard for me to eat those biscuits!

_________________________________
If you like this blog, please give a little click! No form, nothing else to click on, just click once (Or once a day if you’re feeling kind) and it will register a vote for Life With Blondie!
Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

 

About Tiffany (lifewithblondie)

This mom blogger has tackled everything from adoption, ADD, ADHD, OCD, ODD, conduct disorder, hives, pimples, curfew violations, and puberty to sweaty armpits, major surgeries, prom nights and letter jackets in addition to becoming a fairy godmother (aka Grandma).

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Sausage | Life With Blondie

  2. Pingback: Slop | Life With Blondie

  3. I have a meal I call “stuff”. It’s close to chili, without the high dollar meat and chili rue. Ground meat, onion, ranch style beans and rotel. If you have some green peppers, it changes the flavor. Throw some corn in there for color. It was a once a week deal, when I had all of the kids in the house. I could take 1 lb of ground meat, add more beans and with some cornbread, it was a feast. Still is.

  4. hah, sounds familiar! …how ’bout macaroni & cheese plus pea’s or any veggie plus any kind of meat.Bake it. Can do that same with sliced potato’s, scalloped potato’s! hah. 🙂

  5. I love it! We make something I call “skreck.” It’s veggie crumbles, vegan cheeze sauce, and canned tomatoes all mixed in with whatever small noodles I have handy. It sticks to your ribs (and clothes, and the pan, and the inside of the dishwasher…)

  6. Rainbow sausage! Love that! OK, “slop,” duh, why didn’t I think of that! (Just the fact that you have–how many kids–it’s a miracle you have energy to boil water! Five stars! (And thanks for the recipes!)

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

