Head in the Clouds

Standard
Head in the Clouds

Yesterday I took most of my crew to my niece’s graduation. If I had a nickel for every time I’ve said they grow up too fast I could almost afford to feed this crew! All the way to the graduation I warned them that we have to be quiet and still- that’s a bit of a challenge for these kids. I expected to have to repeat myself at least 3 times. We had only been seated a few minutes when someone was pulling on my sleeve.

“Mom, mom, moooooooom?!” I glared over at my little Diva, who promptly tattled “They’re talking!” I looked past her at 3 silent brothers, and lowered my eyebrows quizzically. “Not them, THEM!” She pointed behind us at a group of people who seemed to have a case of the giggles. The kind of giggles that might be happening on “That 70s Show”…

Isn’t funny how kids think Moms are just naturally THE BOSS…. of every single person on planet Earth?? I pick my kids of from school and the first thing I hear is “Mommy Christopher pushed Jennifer off the slide. I told him I was gonna tell you!”

Christopher, whatever you do, stop pushing little girls off the slide, because I said so!

Anyway, somehow we made it through the entire graduation without a single incident from my little people. They even managed to dress nice AND smell good! I call that a triple success. The day was going so well that we went to the graduation party and skipped our dance class and softball game. IMG_1520

If you know me, you know I don’t miss things like that if I don’t have to, but it’s been a long time since so many cousins were gathered together and it will probably be a good while before we can do that again.

I followed everyone around with my camera, and took lots of pictures. Of course later I realized someone had messed with the eye adjustment on my camera, so we had a slight blur on some of them, but I still have proof that we watched Amissa’s big day unfold.

IMG_1650.JPG

On the way home, my kids really made my day. They indulged my desire the stop and take pictures of the beautiful cloudy skies. I swear with the way I love nature, I should have been a tree huggin’ flower power loving tie-dye tshirt wearing hippy.  But I’ll settle for photo-taking extremist.

I even let one of my boys drive us down an old dirt road and we stopped and watched trees floating down the river. (It’s flooding down here in Texas.)

IMG_1715

As we got back on the main road, they even joined me in a game of “get your head in the clouds”…

IMG_1666

I always love looking up to see just what you can find in the clouds, especially on days like this when there are so many different colors and formations above us. We spotted an Eagle flying high above an old cemetery! Do you see it?

IMG_1661

No?  How ’bout now??

eagle-cloud

Just as we got back into our little town, we saw a flying elephant! Our very own Dumbo was diving through the clouds. Do you see him?

IMG_1722

You kind of see a trunk? No? Maybe? Ok, how ’bout now?

flying-elephant

I know, I’m supposed to be a grown-up, but I played that game with my grandpa when I was 24 years old, on our last road trip together! Some things we should never outgrow. Hey, if we’re gonna be stuck in the summer of the rain, might as well make it a game!

If you like this blog, please give a little click! No form, nothing else to click on, just click once (Or once a day if you’re feeling kind) and it will register a vote for Life With Blondie!
Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

 

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

