Hurry Santa, before these cookies disappear! 

Standard

There are some things you have to supervise kids very closely with!  Fireworks, science experiments, painting, and COOKIES!  Trust me on this,  never ever leave the cookies unsupervised.

This year I have really tried to bring back some of the simpler joys of Christmas.  We’ve been decorating and making things and avoiding the hustle and bustle that inevitably tries to steal my joy every year, but I have a confession to make.  

It’s a challenge for me to let the kids just have at it.

I’m a perfectionist by nature.  I like things to be a certain way.

I have a plan in my head and that’s the way it’s supposed to be done.  The tree cookies should be green with ball sprinkles to resemble ornaments and the bells should be silver with sparkles and the angels should be white with yellow halos and, well,  you get the idea…

Kids don’t always have the same ideas…  They like to color outside the lines,  think outside of the box,  and frost with imagination.  

Sometimes it turns out fabulous and sometimes it just turns out delicious.

But one thing I have learned to count on with my crew is that it will always turn out messy.

I’m not sure why my husband had to start a “cake in your face” tradition around here, but once he smashed frosting for the first time he opened a can of worms that I’ve never been able to close.

Now the grandbaby has learned that decorating cookies involves wearing frosting.  I can’t look.  Someone tell me when it’s over. Luckily babies are Just as washable as the rest of the kids.

The only thing I really know now is that Santa better hurry.  We quadrupled the recipe, but these cookies are going fast.  They picked out the prettiest ones to save for Mr. Claus; but if this was Vegas,  I’d bet we end up popping some store bought cookie dough in the oven for jolly old St. Nicholas before he makes his way to Texas! I hope it doesn’t come to that,  but the Elf already stole some of our chocolates from the Advent Calendars and then he was spotted in the cookie jar,  so even if the kids don’t sneak all the cookies,  Adam might take the very last one.  It’s hard enough to have a house with 7 kids running around, but 7 kids and an Elf,  well,  hurry Santa, before the good ones are gone!! And if you have a magical cleaning elf, he can stay all year….  (just a thought)….

About Tiffany (lifewithblondie)

This mom blogger has tackled everything from adoption, ADD, ADHD, OCD, ODD, conduct disorder, hives, pimples, curfew violations, and puberty to sweaty armpits, major surgeries, prom nights and letter jackets in addition to becoming a fairy godmother (aka Grandma).

4 responses »

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

