Ready or Not, Here We Go

Standard

I’m not sure if I’m going to sit down and make any iron clad resolutions this year. Instead I think I will vow to count my blessings every single day. This past year I really learned how to let go and let God. I’ve been at the bottom of the barrel with the cutoff notices in my hand and no idea how I was going to manage them and instead of freaking out I folded my hands together and at every turn He provided for my every need. It takes a lot for a control freak to give into blind faith and trust that everything will be ok, but I’ve lived in this house 17 years and so far we’ve always had food and lights and clothes and gasoline in the car so if I’ve had to swallow some lumps, that’s ok, it was all part of the journey.

20141209_083117I know 2017 is going to bring a lot of new changes. In just a few short months my first born son will graduate high school and move on to new things. This house will change. I won’t have my Mr. FixIt all the time. And when he goes, Hercules will go with him, and I’m gonna miss his big sad eyes riding shotgun every morning.

Then there’s this opportunity I’ve been praying about… it kind of takes me back to my beginning. I was a political science major at the University of Houston when I first graduated high school. I had big dreams and big plans and well, life kind of took me all over the place but this young man I used to teach called me up and asked me if I wanted to write or even possibly edit a well known political blog and I am really excited about the possibility of rekindling a fire inside myself. I love to write. I love politics. I’m deeply concerned about the state of the union. So maybe my voice will join another platform….

And here in the zoo, some exciting new things are on the horizon…. Mr. Stinky has decided to start taking showers every morning! I knew patience was the way to handle it. I knew eventually he would get tired of people recognizing him by the smell of his shoes. I’m just glad he decided to start showering regularly before Junior High rolls around next year!! And even more amazing than that, my mountain of laundry has been conquered! Finally!!

After almost 2 years of debate, I finally forced the issue and hooked up two washers and two dryers in my laundry room, and guess what?? That pile is shrinking by the minute. Amazing how the proper tools make a job doable. A family this big needs a miniature laundry mat, that’s all there is to it. I won that bet. My husband swore it wouldn’t make a difference, but this time he has to eat his words. So in 2016 I’ve accomplished quite a bit. I started a photography business part-time, I made over my bedroom, I reworked the laundry room, I learned how to tape and float sheet rock, I made huge steps in getting healthier, so if I had to make a resolution, I think it would be to just keep on going!

Ready or not, 2017 is here, and it’s bringing some changes, and this time, I have a feeling it’s gonna be a good year!!

best-happy-new-year-pictures

4 responses »

    • It’s funny you should say that, people are either terrified of his massive size or they beg to take him home! He once escaped at the softball field because he was dying to play ball with all the children and he was quite the spectacle!

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

