I’ve Been Keeping Secrets

Standard
I’ve Been Keeping Secrets

So much has been going on in this zoo of mine. My son is 17 days away from graduation. It’s been quite a ride with that kid. He’s an amazing young man. He’s smart. But the classroom hasn’t been his forte. He’s bored in there. He’d rather build something. I think he’s put together 5 cars since school started.

He drug home one little S-10 truck and put a V8 in it. If you’re not a car person, let’s just say tiny truck + big motor = FAST & LOUD. I’m excited to see what Dylan’s gonna do with his life. I’m proud of the man he’s become. He might not turn in his geometry, but if you’re fishing at the river and you get stuck in the mud, I guarantee he’ll be right there with his truck and a chain to save the day.

I don’t think it’s really sinking in just yet. 17 days and that little bitty baby will be done with the biggest chunk of childhood and I’ll have to give up my efforts to micro-manage him once and for all.

DylanSr1

I don’t know if he’ll choose college or technical school or some kind of apprenticeship. All the options are on the table. However, I learned one thing from my oldest child. One size definitely does not fit all.

College isn’t for everyone. And sometimes college is for you, but just not yet… The world doesn’t have the same rules it used to have. Forty-year-olds, like me, go to college online. It’s not the same now-or-never game it used to be. So I’ll leave it up to God to guide him in the right direction, and I’ll do my best to keep my nudgings under control.

That’s the hardest part- controlling my desire to control it all. I have these out-of-the-box kids and I have to accept that they may not go down the tried and true paths before them. They make their own routes through this world. I admire that. And it drives me crazy at the same time.

While Dylan is graduating high school, there are other big changes ahead. Tucker is going to high school! Now that kid has grit. I’ve never seen a kid work as hard as he does. He puts his all into his football. And his grades are every parent’s fantasy. If he gets down to a 93 he thinks it’s time to “buckle down”. He’s overcome so many obstacles in his life. He’s had to deal with hearing loss, a speech impediment, bullies, and then all the drama that comes when your mom brings home 4 new babies all of the sudden… and yet no matter what we throw at him, he’s this example of faith. He’s ability to hang on to God’s word on the darkest days inspires me.

And then there’s Trenton. His teacher says he’s probably the smartest kid in the 5th grade. Unfortunately he thinks that means he doesn’t have to do his homework. He’s going to junior high and I have a prediction- the fight over bath time will soon come to an end. He’s going to notice a girl soon, and he’ll never want to leave this house stinky again. Meanwhile, he’s begging for a cellphone and I’m debating- is it that time already?

That leaves the twins and my little diva at the intermediate school, but I’m good with that. We have enough growing up going on around here. They can just stay little for one more year!! They’re so excited because they know the secret! Honestly, I can’t believe in a family this big we managed to keep it under wraps for this long, but I’m going to let you in on a little something.

I believe in praying big things for my children. I believe in telling them to be dreamers- More than dreamers- dream chasers! I’d like to think my philosophy is starting to pay off.

I’ve blogged about Blondie and her singing for years now.

I’ve bragged on Facebook and shared my videos and begged people to just stop and listen. I packed her things when she moved to Nashville. And when she came home with a boy and started playing Texas music, I went along to every show. When the dust settles, I have one heck of a story to tell you. But for now- I’ll just tell you there’s been a secret.

Celebrity Undercover Boss: Darius Rucker

Studio Lambert ©2017 CBS Broadcasting, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Blondie and her beau, aka Treble Soul, will appear next week on Undercover Boss with the amazing Darius Rucker (Hootie and the Blowfish singer turned mega country star)!!

Celebrity Undercover Boss: Darius Rucker

Studio Lambert ©2017 CBS Broadcasting, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

To be part of the first celebrity edition of Undercover Boss was such an honor for them. I can’t wait to say more, but for now, I’ll say tune in May 12th at 8/7 central on CBS. Until then, pray big things for your children. Miracles happen every day. And what’s that old saying? Shoot for the stars. If you succeed, you’ve got a star. And if you fail, you might land on a cloud. Either way, if you aim high, you’ll be a cut above the rest! That’s my two cents, for what it’s worth!

2 responses »

  1. I am so happy for you Tiffany!! You have been there 100% for your kids….sometimes even at the expense of going without for yourself! God will continue to bless you and your efforts. NOW is YOUR time to shoot for the Moon, and I fully expect you will reach it! Once you put your mind to it, the pieces do fall into place! Now…take your “hidden” writing skills out and besides amazing blogs let the world hear YOUR songs! Love you …Aunt DiAnne

Surely, after reading all of this, you have at least one thing to say!

